Banking in India – A Complete list of all Banks – Govt and Private

All Banks List 2024, Banking in India: Banking in India in the modern sense originated in the last decades of the 18th century. The first banks were Bank of Hindustan


Banking in India

All Banks List 2024, Banking in India: Banking in India in the modern sense originated in the last decades of the 18th century. The first banks were Bank of Hindustan (1770-1829) and The General Bank of India, established 1786 and since defunct.

Banking in India – A comprehensive list of all Banks

The largest bank, and the oldest still in existence, is the State Bank of India, which originated in the Bank of Calcutta in June 1806, which almost immediately became the Bank of Bengal. This was one of the three presidency banks, the other two being the Bank of Bombay and the Bank of Madras, all three of which were established under charters from the British East India Company. The three banks merged in 1921 to form the Imperial Bank of India, which, upon India’s independence, became the State Bank of India in 1955. For many years the presidency banks acted as quasi-central banks, as did their successors, until the Reserve Bank of India was established in 1935.

In 1969 the Indian government nationalised all the major banks that it did not already own and these have remained under government ownership. They are run under a structure know as ’profit-making public sector undertaking’ (PSU) and are allowed to compete and operate as commercial banks. The Indian banking sector is made up of four types of banks, as well as the PSUs and the state banks, they have been joined since the 1990s by new private commercial banks and a number of foreign banks.

Recommended Articles

If you like this article then please like us on Facebook so that you can get our updates in future ……….and subscribe to our mailing list ” freely “

Types of banks in India:

A) Nationalised banks
B) SBI associated banks
C) Regional rural banks
D) Private banks
E) co-operative banks
F) Foreign banks.

A) Nationalised Banks in India:

Public Sector Banks or PSBs are those banks where the direct holding of the Central/State Government or other PSBs is 51% or more.01

1. Andhra banks
2. Allahabad bank
3. Bank of Baroda
4. Bank of India
5. Bank of Maharashtra
6. Canara Bank
7. Central Bank of India
8. Corporation Bank
9. Indian Bank
10. Indian Overseas Bank
11. Oriental Bank of Commerce
12. Punjab National Bank
13. Punjab & Sind Bank
14. Syndicate Bank
15. UCO Bank
16. Union Bank of India
17. United Bank of India
18. Vijaya Bank
19. IDBI Bank
20. Dena Bank
21. ECGC.

C) Regional rural banks In India :

1.Allahabad UP Gramin Bank
2.Andhra Pradesh Grameena Vikas Bank
3.Andhra Pragathi Grameena Bank
4.Arunachal Pradesh Rural Bank
5.Gramin Bank of Aryavart
6.Assam Gramin Vikash Bank
7.Baitarani Gramya Bank
8.Bangiya Gramin Vikash Bank
9. Baroda Gujarat Gramin Bank
10.Baroda Rajasthan Kshetriya Gramin Bank
11.Baroda Uttar Pradesh Gramin Bank
12.Bihar Gramin Bankis the result of the merger on 15 Oct 2012 between Samastipur Kshetriya Gramina Bank and Bihar Kshetriya Gramina Bank.
13.Chaitanya Godavari Grameena Bank
14.Chhattisgarh Gramin Bank
15.Deccan Grameena Bank
16.Dena Gujarat Gramin Bank
17.Durg-Rajnandgaon Gramin Bank
18.Ellaquai Dehati Bank
19.Sarva Haryana Gramin Bank
20.Himachal Gramin
21.Jhabua Dhar Kshetriya Gramin Bank
22.Jharkhand Gramin Bank
23.JK Gramin Bank
24.Kalinga Gramya Bank
25.Karnataka Vikas Grameena Bank
26.Kashi Gomti Samyut Gramin Bank
27.Kaveri Grameena Bank
28.Kerala Gramin Bank
29.Krishna Grameena Bank- Amalgamated with PGBon 23 Aug 13 – New name: Pragathi Krishna Gramin Bank
30.Langpi Dehangi Rural Bank
31.Madhumalti Building Gupte Marg
32.Madhya Bihar Gramin Bank
33.Mahakaushal Kshetriya Gramin Bank
34.Maharashtra Gramin Bank.
35.Malwa Gramin Bank
36.Manipur Rural Bank
37.Marudhara Gramin Bank
38.Meghalaya Rural Bank
39.Mewar Anchalik Gramin Bank
40.Mizoram Rural Bank
41.Nagaland Rural Bank
42.Narmada Jhabwa GraminBank
43.Neelachal Gramya Bank
44.Pallavan Grama Bank
45.Pandyan Grama Bank
46.Parvatiya Gramin Bank
47.Paschim Banga Gramin Bank
48.Pragathi Gramin Bank; after amalgamation on 23 August 2013 the bank became Pragathi Krishna Gramin
49.Prathama Bharathiar Grama bank
50.Punjab Gramin bank
51.Purvanchal Bankmergedwith Ballia Etawa Gramin Bank on 1 July 2013.
52.Odisha Grameen bank
53.Rushikulya Gramya bank
54.Saptagiri Grameena bank
55.Sarva Haryana Gramin bank
56.Sarva UP Gramin bank
57.Satpura Narmada Kshetriya bank
58.Saurashtra Gramin bank
59.Mandhyanchal Grameen bank
60.Surguja Kshetriya Gramin bank
61.Sutlej Kshetriya Gramin bank
62.Tripura Gramin bank
63.Utkal Grameen bank
64.Uttar Banga Kshetriya Gramin bank
65.Uttar Bihar Gramin bank
66.Uttarakhand Gramin bank
67.Vananchal Gramin bank
68.Vidharbha Kshetriya Gramin bank
69.Wainganga Krishna Gramin bank

D) Private banks in India:

1.Bank of Rajasthan Ltd.
2.Bharat Overseas Bank Ltd.
3.Catholic Syrian Bank Ltd.
4.Federal Bank Ltd
5.Dhanalakshmi Bank Ltd.
6.Jammu and Kashmir Bank Ltd.
7.Karnataka Bank Ltd.
8.Karur Vysya Bank Ltd.
9.City Union Bank Ltd.
10.Lakshmi Vilas Bank Ltd.
11.Nainital Bank Ltd.
12.Ratnakar Bank Ltd.
13.South Indian Bank Ltd.
14.Tamilnad Mercantile Bank Ltd.
15.ING Vysya Bank Ltd.
16.ICICI Bank Ltd.
17.Axis Bank Ltd.
18.IndusInd Bank Ltd.
19.Yes Bank Ltd.
20.SBI Commercial and International Bank Ltd.
21.HDFC Bank Ltd.
22.Development Credit Bank Ltd.
23.Kotak Mahindra Bank Lt

E) Co-operative banks in India

F) Foreign banks.

Recommended Articles


Related Post

Join the Discussion